The Department of Homeland Security announced Friday that it will extend work authorization for beneficiaries of temporary protected status (TPS) from El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua and Sudan.

Employment Authorization Documents will be extended through Jan. 4, 2021.

TPS Designation Previous Expiration Date New Expiration Date
El Salvador Jan. 2, 2020 Jan. 4, 2021
Haiti Jan. 2, 2020 Jan. 4, 2021
Honduras Jan. 5, 2020 Jan. 4, 2021
Nepal March 24, 2020 Jan. 4, 2021
Nicaragua Jan. 2, 2020 Jan. 4, 2021
Sudan Jan. 2, 2020 Jan. 4, 2021

DHS will also extend the validity of Forms I-797, Notice of Action; and Forms I-94, Arrival/Departure Record, through Jan. 4, 2021.

Background: The Trump administration has moved to end TPS designations for the countries listed above, but its efforts have been temporary halted in court. DHS said it was extending work authorization to remain in compliance with injunctions and a court order from federal courts in California and New York. The government announced the extension for TPS holders from El Salvador earlier this week; a notice scheduled for publication on Monday will cover TPS holders from the five other countries as well. Additional information is available on the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services TPS website.

BAL Analysis: The automatic extensions will allow TPS holders from El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua and Sudan to work in the United States through Jan. 4, 2021. TPS remains in place at this time for eligible nationals of each of the six countries. BAL will continue following the litigation and will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL U.S. Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2019 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact