The Emirati government recently lifted its travel ban for qualifying foreign nationals from 15 countries.

Key Points:

  • As of Sept. 12, fully vaccinated foreign nationals who hold valid United Arab Emirates residence visas may return to the country from the following countries:
    • Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Democratic Republic of Congo, India, Liberia, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Uganda, Vietnam and Zambia.
  • To be eligible to enter the country, travelers from the aforementioned countries must:
    • Submit an entry application and vaccination application through this website.
    • Provide a negative PCR test with a QR code taken within 48 hours of departure.
    • Take PCR tests on the fourth and eighth day of arrival.
  • Abu Dhabi residents and residents of other Emirates can check their return eligibility status here.
  • Dubai Residents should apply for return permit approval here.

Additional Information: Children under the age of 16 are exempt from the eligibility requirements. All previously announced heath measures remain in place for unvaccinated individuals from the aforementioned countries.

BAL Analysis: Individuals from the countries above will be able to enter the UAE if they have valid residence visas. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global practice. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact