The South Korean government has announced that it will resume visa-free entry for Hong Kong residents in July.

Key Points:

  • Beginning July 1, Hong Kong and British National Overseas (BNO) passport holders will be able submit applications for Visa Waiver Entry (K-ETA).
  • K-ETA will remain suspended for eight countries and regions, including Japan, Macao and Taiwan.
  • Travelers who are eligible for K-ETA can submit applications through this website.

Additional Information: Individuals can travel under K-ETA for tourism, visiting relatives or to participate in events, meeting or other non-profitable business activities. From July 1, a total of 104 countries, territories and territories are now eligible for K-ETA. More information regarding the K-ETA program is available here.

BAL Analysis: The resumption of K-ETA for Hong Kong is another major step in normalizing international travel to South Korea.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact