The Russian government has launched a short-term e-visa for nationals of more than 50 countries.

Key Points:

  • The e-visa is valid for 60 days and allows a single-entry stay of up to 16 days.
  • The e-visa may be used for tourist, business, sports, cultural, scientific or humanitarian purposes.
  • Currently, the e-visa is available to nationals of 52 countries with three more (Cambodia, Myanmar and Vietnam) to be added soon.

Background: Russian authorities approved the e-visa in 2020, but the launch was delayed by COVID-19 and governmental data system modernization.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2023 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact