The Portuguese government has clarified Schengen area travel restrictions for resident permit holders for nationals of the Community of Portuguese Speaking Countries (CPLP).

Key Points:

  • Nationals of the CPLP who hold residence permits in Portugal are not allowed to travel freely throughout the Schengen area.
  • Nationals of the CPLP must apply for additional visas to travel throughout the Schengen area, depending on their nationality and visa requirements of their intended destination.

Additional Information: CPLP countries include Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, East Timor, Guinea Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal and São Tomé e Príncipe. More information for residence permit holders for nationals of CPLP countries is available on this website.

BAL Analysis: Portuguese authorities have allowed nationals of CPLP countries to apply for residence permits to increase mobility and strengthen ties between the countries. Such individuals are reminded that they are not permitted to travel freely throughout the Schengen area.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2023 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact