What is the change? Hong Kong and Macanese passport holders who are permanent residents of one of 27 designated locations may now use the online application system to apply for Taiwanese multiple-entry permits.

What does the change mean? The permits are valid for either one or three years, with stays of up to three months per visit. Previously, all Hong Kong and Macau passport holders were required to apply in person.

  • Implementation time frame: Immediate. The change took effect Oct. 2.
  • Visas/permits affected: Taiwanese multiple-entry permits.
  • Who is affected: Hong Kong SAR and Macau SAR passport holders who are residents of the 27 localities listed below and are applying for an entry permit to Taiwan.
  • Business impact: Business travel is a permitted purpose for Taiwanese multiple-entry permits.

Background: Hong Kong and Macau passport holders must be a permanent resident of—and living in—one of the 27 designated locations (cities, provinces or countries) listed below. However, those who also hold other passports will not be eligible for this privilege.

Australia France Hanoi, Vietnam Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam Hong Kong
India Indonesia Los Angeles, CA (US) Macau Malaysia
Miami, FL (US) Myanmar New York, NY (US) New Zealand Ontario, Canada
Osaka, Japan Paraguay The Philippines San Francisco, CA (US) Singapore
South Africa South Korea Thailand Tokyo, Japan United Kingdom
Vancouver, Canada Washington, D.C. (US)

BAL Analysis: The change in policy makes it more convenient for Hong Kong and Macau passport holders to apply for visas to Taiwan.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group and our network provider located in Taiwan. For additional information, please contact your BAL attorney.

Copyright © 2017 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact