The European Parliament has approved visa-free travel for nationals of Kosovo.

Key Points:

  • The visa waiver has not been implemented yet, but will allow citizens of Kosovo to travel without a visa to the Schengen region, as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, for up to 90 days within a 180-day period.
  • The visa exemption will enter into force once the European Travel Information and Authorization System is in place, which is expected in 2024.
  • After the law enters into force, the entire Western Balkans region will have a similar visa framework for the Schengen area.

Background: The European Parliament has supported visa liberalization with Kosovo since 2016, after the Commission declared that Kosovo fulfils the criteria of its roadmap for visa liberalization. Kosovo is currently the only part of the Western Balkans region to not benefit from visa-free travel on short stays with the Schengen area.

BAL Analysis: Travelers are reminded that the visa waiver is appropriate for business, family and tourist purposes; those conducting work activities must obtain work authorization

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2023 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact