Croatia will join the Schengen Area, Europe’s free-travel zone, Jan. 1.

Key Points:

  • Beginning Jan. 1, 2023, Croatia will become part of the Schengen Area; Croatian nationals will be able to travel to other Schengen Area countries without obtaining a visa.
  • Croatian authorities will begin accepting applications from third-country nationals for Schengen visas and using the Schengen Information System. Croatian authorities will determine the business activities permitted under a Schengen “C” visa.
  • More information regarding the European Council’s decision to add Croatia to the Schengen Area is available here.

Background: The Schengen Area is made up of 26 countries — 27 with the addition of Croatia — and allows free movement to member countries. Individuals holding a Schengen member state passport or ID card can travel freely within the free-movement area.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact