The European Council updated the list of countries for which it recommends travel restrictions be lifted, adding Indonesia to the list.

Key Points:

  • On Nov. 18, the European Council advised its member states to gradually lift travel restrictions for travelers from Indonesia.
  • The Council recommended the continue lifting of restrictions for many countries, including Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, South Korea and the United Arab Emirates. The full list is available here.

Additional Information: Recently, the Council recommended that its member states re-implement restrictions on nonessential travel from Singapore and Ukraine. Member states have the right to impose or lift entry restrictions and are not legally bound to apply the EU Council’s recommendations.

BAL Analysis: The EU continues to update its COVID-19 travel recommendations, and while member states have, in many cases, moved to implement the recommendations, exact policies will vary from country to country. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group. For additional information, please contact
Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact