New visa rules take effect

11 May 17



What is the change? Ukraine has implemented new rules that aim to streamline visa applications and processing.

What does the change mean? Among the changes, visas on arrival have been expanded to 33 countries, requirements have been reduced for short-term business visas and an electronic application process has been introduced for single-entry business/tourist visas for stays of up to 30 days.

  • Implementation time frame: Immediate. The law took effect April 16.
  • Visas/permits affected: C visas, D visas, visas on arrival.
  • Who is affected: Foreign nationals traveling to Ukraine. 
  • Impact on processing times: Visas will be processed in 10 business under standard time frames and five business days for expedited service.
  • Business impact: Several provisions ease the requirements for business travelers.

Background: The key changes introduced by the new visa rules include:

  • Short-term business visa applicants are no longer required to request an invitation letter by the State Migration Service. Instead, applicants need only submit a formal written application from a legal entity or resident of Ukraine (or, in the case of private visas, a notarized application from an individual host).
  • Long-term D visas will be valid for multiple entries for 90 days total.
  • Business and tourist visa applicants may apply online for single-entry visas for up to 30 days.
  • Visa applications submitted to Ukrainian consulates should first go through preregistration on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website form. Nationals of certain countries may be asked to apply in person. Visa interviews may be conducted remotely.
  • Government visa fees of US$65 will apply for visas issued by Ukrainian consulates and 2,550 hryvnia (about US$96) for visas issued upon entry.
  • Foreign nationals are eligible for short-term C visas if they own real estate in Ukraine.
  • Nationals of the following countries are eligible for visas upon arrival for business or tourism:
Australia Indonesia Palau
Antigua and Barbuda Qatar Peru
Bahamas China Samoa
Barbados Kuwait El Salvador
Bahrain Mauritius Saudi Arabia
Vanuatu Malaysia Seychelles
Guatemala Mexico Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Honduras Micronesia Singapore
Grenada New Zealand East Timor
Dominica UAE Trinidad and Tobago
India Oman Tuvalu

BAL Analysis: The changes should facilitate business travel, particularly for short trips and for nationals of the 33 countries who may travel without a visa and apply at the border.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group and our network provider located in Ukraine. For additional information, please contact your BAL attorney.

Copyright © 2017 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact