The Department of Homeland Security extended Temporary Protected Status reregistration periods from 60 days to 18 months for the designations of El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua and Sudan.

Key Points:

  • Under this extension, the reregistration periods now run through to the following dates:
    • El Salvador — March 9, 2025
    • Haiti — Aug. 3, 2024
    • Honduras — July 5, 2025
    • Nepal — June 24, 2025
    • Nicaragua — July 5, 2025
    • Sudan — April 19, 2025
  • The extension allows TPS beneficiaries from these countries to submit Form I-821, Application for Temporary Protected Status, and Form I-765, Application for Employment Authorization, any time before the dates noted above.

Additional Information: U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services stressed that the announcement does not change previously announced extensions of the TPS designations for the six countries in question. The announcement also does not change any TPS eligibility requirements, but rather extends the period when existing beneficiaries may reregister for benefits. DHS will publish a Federal Register notice with additional information soon.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group.

Copyright © 2023 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact