The Department of Homeland Security will extend the bans on nonessential land travel across the U.S. borders with Canada and Mexico, according to notices set to be published in the Federal Register on Thursday, April 22.

Key Points:

  • The restrictions will remain in place through 11:59 p.m. EDT on May 21.
  • Only “essential travel” will be permitted through land ports of entry along the U.S.-Canada and U.S.-Mexico borders.
  • The list of individuals permitted to engage in “essential travel” includes:
    • U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents (LPRs) returning to the U.S.
    • Individuals traveling to work in the U.S. (e.g., agricultural workers), engaging in lawful cross-border trade (e.g., truck drivers transporting goods), or traveling to attend school, receive medical treatment, for public health purposes, or a limited number of other reasons.
  • The restrictions do not apply to air or sea travel, but do apply to passenger rail, passenger ferry travel and pleasure boat travel.

Additional Information: The nonessential travel bans, introduced in March 2020 because of COVID-19, were initially in place for 30 days and have been extended numerous times since then.

This alert has been provided by the BAL U.S. Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact