The U.K. Home Office has announced that it will require travelers who do not need a visa to apply for Electronic Travel Authorization.

Key Points:

  • Beginning Nov. 15, Qatari nationals will need to apply for ETA through the U.K. ETA app or through this website.
  • Beginning Feb. 22, 2024, nationals of Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates will need to apply for ETA.
  • By the end of 2024, ETA will be required for all visitors who do not need a visa for short stays, including those visiting from Europe and other countries including Australia and the United States.
  • Those who hold ETA will be allowed to enter the U.K.:
    • For up to six months for tourism, visiting family, business purposes or school.
    • For up to three months on the Creative Worker visa concession.
    • To transit through the country.
  • Travelers will be exempt from the ETA requirement if they have a British or Irish passport; permission to live, work or study in the U.K.; or hold a visa to enter the country.

Additional Information: ETA will be valid for two years for multiple entries into the country. Individuals who are denied ETA must apply for a Standard Visitor visa, Temporary Work – Creative Worker visa or transit visa. More information regarding ETA is available here.

BAL Analysis: The Home Office is introducing ETA to increase border security and improve travel for those who do not need a visa to enter the country. ETA is set to replace the current Electronic Visa Waiver Scheme, which requires visitors to the U.K. from Gulf Cooperation Council countries to pay a higher cost for a single-use visit.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2023 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact