What is the change? The United Arab Emirates has agreed to visa-free travel arrangements with Mexico and Serbia.

What does the change mean? Nationals of the UAE will be permitted to travel to Mexico and Serbia without obtaining a visa in advance. Likewise, nationals of Mexico and Serbia will be permitted to travel to the UAE without first needing to obtain a visa.

The UAE and Serbia added an amendment to the original passport protocol agreement signed in 2014 that extends visa-free travel to Serbian nationals. The UAE and Mexico exchanged a diplomatic memorandum of understanding on visa exemption in September, and the agreement went into effect Oct. 31.

  • Implementation time frame: The visa-free travel arrangement has been implemented for both Mexico and Serbia.
  • Visas/permits affected: Visa waiver.
  • Who is affected: Citizens of Serbia, Mexico and the UAE.
  • Impact on processing times: Travelers will not need to apply for a visa before travel.
  • Business impact: Business travelers may conduct limited business activities on the visa waiver.

Background: The UAE and Serbia previously signed a visa-free agreement for Emirati nationals holding diplomatic or official passports to enter Serbia without a visa in 2014. This was later amended to allow UAE nationals holding regular passports to enter. The new amendment will extend the visa-free agreement to Serbian nationals. This year, the UAE has agreed to visa-free travel deals with ChinaIreland, ParaguayRussia and Uruguay and implemented visa-free travel deals with Brazil and Ukraine.

Analysis & Comments: The visa waiver will facilitate business travel between Mexico and the UAE and between Serbia and the UAE.

Source: Deloitte LLP. Deloitte LLP is a limited liability partnership registered in England and Wales with registered number OC303675 and its registered office at 1 New Street Square, London EC4A 3HQ, United Kingdom.