The government of Sri Lanka extended its visa-free entry policy for nationals from seven countries until May 31.

Key Points:

  • The government extended its visa-free travel policy for nationals from China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Russia and Thailand.
  • The application process is transitioning from the Electronic Travel Authorization system to the new eVisa scheme. Nationals from these countries will still be required to complete an eVisa application prior to their arrival in the country.
  • The scheme will grant a single-entry stay for a maximum period of 30 days.

BAL Analysis: As BAL previously reported, government officials said this new policy initiative, along with several other recent policy updates, are designed to simplify the visa system and attract more investors and tourists.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group.

Copyright © 2024 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact