The Spanish government has amended the criteria for non-essential travel restrictions as a result of COVID-19. The updated list of countries exempted from entry ban includes countries added and removed as health conditions worsen/improve in each country.

Key Points:

  • Citizens from the following countries can travel to Spain: Algeria (subject to reciprocity), Australia, Canada, China (subject to reciprocity), Georgia, Japan, Morocco (subject to reciprocity), New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.
  • The list may be subject to modification at the discretion of the Ministry of the Interior.
  • The following groups are also exempt from the entry ban:
    • Residents of the EU, Schengen-associated states, Andorra, Monaco, the Vatican or San Marino who provide documentary evidence.
    • Holders of a long-term visa issued by a Member State or Schengen-associated state.
    • Working healthcare/elderly care professionals and health researchers.
    • Sea and flight crews and other personnel required to carry out air transport activities and transport of goods.
    • Members of diplomatic missions, consular posts, international and military entities, civil protection, and humanitarian organizations for the performance of their official duties.
    • Students undertaking studies in Member States or Schengen-associated states, provided they are traveling to the country where they study and entry is undertaken during the academic year or 15 days prior its start.
    • Highly qualified employees whose activity is mandatory, cannot be postponed or undertaken remotely, including participants in upscale sports competitions taking place in Spain.
    • People traveling for imperative family reasons.
    • People who provide evidence of unforeseen circumstances, necessity, or whose entry is permitted on humanitarian grounds.

Analysis & Comments: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and Deloitte will provide additional updates as information becomes available. Please check Deloitte’s COVID-19 Digital Map, available here, for information on travel restrictions and immigration changes in other countries.

Rest of World Source: Deloitte. Deloitte refers to one or more of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited (“DTTL”), its global network of member firms, and their related entities. DTTL (also referred to as “Deloitte Global”) and each of its member firms are legally separate and independent entities. DTTL does not provide services to clients. Please see to learn more. Deloitte Legal means the legal practices of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited member firms or their affiliates that provide legal services. For legal, regulatory and other reasons, not all member firms provide legal services. This includes Deloitte Tax LLP in the United States which does not provide legal and/or immigration advice or services. This communication contains general information only, and none of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited, its member firms or their related entities (collectively, the “Deloitte network”) is, by means of this communication, rendering professional advice or services. Before making any decision or taking any action that may affect your finances or your business, you should consult a qualified professional adviser. No entity in the Deloitte network shall be responsible for any loss whatsoever sustained by any person who relies on this communication. © 2020. For information, contact Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited.