The Indonesian government recently introduced an electronic visa on arrival (e-VOA) for some foreign nationals.

Key Points:

  • Indonesian authorities introduced the e-VOA for nationals of 26 countries, including Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States.
  • To be qualify for e-VOA, nationals of eligible countries must:
    • Have a passport with at least six months of validity.
    • Pay the Visa on Arrival fee of 500,000 IDR (about US$32).
    • Have a ticket that indicates the date of departure from Indonesia.
    • Have other relevant documents as requested by the country’s COVID-19 task force.
  • Travelers holding e-VOAs can enter Indonesia for 30 days (extendable for an additional 30 days) for certain reasons other than tourism, including the purchasing of goods, government duties and transit to another country. Business meetings may also be permitted in some instances.
  • Foreign nationals must enter Indonesia within 90 day of receiving their e-VOA through the Soekarno-Hatta International Airport in Jakarta or the Ngurah Rai International Airport in Bali; otherwise, they must apply for a new visa to enter the country.

Additional Information: The e-VOA differs from the recently relaunched Visa on Arrival in that it allows eligible foreign nationals to apply for the e-VOA before their departure to Indonesia. The regular VOA must be purchased by travelers upon arrival at the VOA counter before the immigration checkpoint.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact