The Indian government has updated its guidance for international arrivals and expanded the at-risk countries list that must follow additional entry requirements.

Key Points:

  • As of Dec 1, individuals intending to travel to India must:
    • Submit a self-declaration form on the online Air Suvidha portal.
    • Upload a negative PCR test result that was taken within 72 hours of departure.
    • Submit a signed affidavit attesting to the authenticity of the test results.
  • As of Dec. 1, travelers from the EU, Brazil, Botswana, China, Hong Kong, Israel, Mauritius, New Zealand, Singapore, South Africa, the U.K. and Zimbabwe must:
    • Take a COVID-19 test upon arrival and receive negative results before leaving the airport.
    • Quarantine at home for seven days and taken another test on the eighth day of arrival.
    • Self-monitor for another seven days after test results are received.

Additional Information: If travelers from at-risk countries test positive for COVID-19 they must quarantine at a designated facility. More information regarding entry requirements and health protocols is available here.

BAL Analysis: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact