The Finnish government has announced that it will suspend tourist and transit travel for Russian nationals.

Key Points:

  • Beginning today, Russian nationals are not allowed to enter Finland for tourism purposes or to transit to another country.
  • Finnish authorities cited the invasion of Ukraine and the mobilization of the Russian military as reasons for the travel restrictions.
  • Russian nationals who hold Finnish residence permits or who are traveling for humanitarian reasons or for national interests will still be allowed to enter the country.
  • Detailed information regarding entry restrictions for Russian nationals is available here.

BAL Analysis: Russian nationals should expect continued difficulty in obtaining visas for travel to Finland and other countries in the Schengen Area. Employers should plan travel well in advance to avoid complications and delays.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact