European countries are re-imposing travel restrictions on U.S. residents following the European Council’s decision to remove the U.S. from its “green list” at the end of August.

The countries that have implemented restrictions again include:

  • Bulgaria. Officials designated the U.S. as a red-zone country as of Sept. 1. Travelers from the U.S., regardless of their citizenship, are banned from entering the country unless they meet an exception found here.
  • Denmark. Officials moved the U.S. to the orange list on Sept. 6. Unvaccinated U.S. travelers are banned from entering the country; fully vaccinated U.S. travelers may still enter the country it they have a worthy purpose of travel.
  • France. The French government moved the U.S. to the amber list on Sept. 9. U.S. travelers who are not vaccinated must give a compelling reason to be able to enter France. No restrictions apply to fully vaccinated U.S. travelers. Additional entry requirements and heath measures can be found here.
  • Germany. Travelers who are coming from or have been in the U.S. within 10 days of entering Germany must be fully vaccinated or demonstrate an important reason for entering the country. More information can be found here.
  • Italy. Individuals traveling from or who have been in the U.S. within 14 days of intended arrival must present a PCR or rapid test that was taken within 72 hours of arrival, regardless of vaccination status. Travelers must complete the digital passenger locator form before entering the country. Those who cannot show proof of vaccination or recovery from a past COVID-19 infection will be required to isolate for five days and will then be subject to another test. Additional entry requirement and information can be found here.
  • Netherlands. Officials designated the U.S. as a “very high risk area” on Sept. 4. Only U.S. travelers who are fully vaccinated or fall under an exemption category will be allowed to enter the country. More information regarding entry requirements can be found here.
  • Spain. As of Sept. 6, U.S. travelers are subject to the general travel restrictions for non-essential travelers from third countries to EU and Schengen Area. Non-vaccinated U.S. travelers are banned from entering the country until further notice. A full list of travel restriction exemptions can be found here.
  • Sweden. Officials removed the U.S. from its safe-countries list on Sept. 6. U.S. travelers may no longer enter the country for non-essential reasons, regardless of vaccination status. More information on Swedish travel restrictions from the U.S. can be found here.

Additional Information: Recent changes in restrictions make travel from the U.S. to many European countries more difficult. Travelers are reminded that the U.S. continues to bar entry and re-entry to many foreign nationals who have been physically present in the Schengen Area, Ireland or the United Kingdom in the past 14 days. The bans will remain in place until they are lifted or modified by President Joe Biden. U.S. consulates continue to operate at reduced capacity, and applicants for visas and exemptions from the COVID-19 travel restrictions should expect delays. The U.S. government also requires proof of a negative COVID-19 test from all international air travelers, including U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents. Foreign nationals should continue to consult their BAL professional before planning international travel.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global practice. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact