The Ministry of Foreign Affairs opened travel for vaccinated travelers from the U.K., U.S. and 11 other countries on June 5.

Key Points:

  • Vaccinated travelers from “yellow” third countries and Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) countries, including the U.K. and the U.S, are now permitted to enter the country without having a “worthy purpose” for travel.
  • Travelers must show proof of a European Medicines Agency (EMA) approved vaccine administered at least 14 days prior to arrival in Denmark.
  • Vaccinated travelers from the aforementioned countries are exempt from the mandatory quarantine requirement but still must adhere to testing protocols. If a traveler has not been vaccinated, he or she will be subject to post-entry testing and quarantine requirements
  • Previously infected individuals must show proof of a positive antigen or PCR test that was conducted between 14 days and 8 months of intended entry into Denmark to be exempt from other testing requirements.

Additional Information: Effective on June 11 until June 26, travelers from the U.K. must provide a negative PCR test conducted within 48 hours of departure to the country. Travelers from red countries are still barred from entering the country. To see a full list of Denmark’s country color categorization click here.

BAL Analysis: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by Berry Appleman & Leiden. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact