Chinese officials announced the expansion of their unilateral visa-free entry policy to six additional countries: Austria, Belgium, Hungary, Ireland, Luxembourg and Switzerland.

Key Points:

  • The government has enacted visa-free treatment to travelers holding ordinary passports from the six aforementioned countries on a trial basis.
  • From March 14 to Nov. 30, 2024, foreign nationals from these countries may enter China and stay for no more than 15 days for business, tourism, family visit or transit purposes.

BAL Analysis:

Chinese officials said the policy is intended to further facilitate cross-border travel and economic development.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group.

Copyright © 2024 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact