COVID-19: Border restrictions to be eased


The Singaporean government has announced that it will ease its border restrictions on Feb. 22.

Key Points: 

  • Individuals who hold an Employment Pass, Dependent Pass, Long-Term Visit Pass or S Pass will be able to enter Singapore with their Long-Term Passes and proof of COVID-19 vaccination. Previously,  they had to apply for a Vaccinated Travel Pass or obtain entry approval under the Work Pass Holder Lane (WPHL).
    • Work Permit holders must still apply for a Vaccinated Travel Pass or obtain approval under the WPHL to enter Singapore.
  • Travelers are required to carry out a Stay-Home Notice (SHN) for seven days instead of 14 days.
  • Individuals will be required to take supervised self-administered rapid tests at designated testing centers within 24 hours after arrival instead of a PCR test at the airport. Unsupervised self-administered rapid tests will no longer be required for those using the Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) program.

Additional Information: On Feb. 25, Hong Kong, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates will join the VTL program; authorities will add Israel and the Philippines to the program on March 4. More information regarding the VTL program is available here. More information on Singapore’s border restrictions is available here.

BAL Analysis: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact